Location: Sotterraneo del Baluardo San Colombano, Corso Garibaldi 35
Opening times: Monday – Thursday 3pm – 7:30pm / Friday – Sunday 10am – 7: 30pm


Since 1955 the World Press Photo Contest has recognized professional photographers for the best pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism.

This year the organization of the award has significantly revisited their method of selecting and awarding the works. The main criterion for collecting images is geographic, with the subdivision of the world into six macro-areas: Africa, North and Central America, South America, Asia, Southeast Asia, Europe and Oceania. The “regional” winners were announced on March 24th while the global winners in the four main categories have been announced on April 7th.
The winner of the World Press Photo of the Year is Canadian photographer Amber Bracken. Her picture Kamloops Residential School shows the red dresses hung on crosses along a roadside commemorate children who died at the Kamloops Indian Residential School, an institution created to assimilate Indigenous children, following the detection of as many as 215 unmarked graves in Kamloops, British Columbia. The World Press Photo Story of the Year went to Matthew Abbott with the series Saving Forests with Fire about traditional burns in Australia, that help to prevent larger, more destructive fires from occurring in the hotter, dryer months of the year. Lalo de Almeida won the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award with Amazonian Dystopia, a project about the devastation of the Brazilian Amazon that has been running at its fastest pace in a decade. The winner of the Open Format is Isadora Romero with the project Blood is a Seed that questions the disappearance of seeds, forced migration, racism, colonization, and the subsequent loss of ancestral knowledge.