Joel Meyerowitz

Meyerowitz ritratto sito

Joel Meyerowitz (Bronx, New York, 1938) believes it was that basic “street” education that nurtured his delight in human observation, a perception which is at the heart of his photography.
Meyerowitz is a “street photographer” in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color. His first book Cape Light is considered a classic work of color photography and has sold over 100,000 copies.
His restless energy and open approach to subject matter has produced such varied work as: Photographs From a Moving Car (a one man show at MoMA in 1968), his Guggenheim Fellowship project, Still Going: America During Vietnam, his work with the large format, 8×10 view camera has resulted in such diverse books as: Cape Light, St. Louis and The Arch, Redheads, A Summer’s Day, Bay/Sky, Aftermath: The World Trade Center Archive, and others.
In 1995 Meyerowitz produced and directed his first film: POP, an intimate diary of a three-week road trip he made with his son Sasha and his father, Hy.
Within a few days of the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center in New York, Meyerowitz began to create an archive of the destruction and recovery at Ground Zero. He was the only photographer granted unimpeded access to the site. Meyerowitz was invited to represent the United States at the 8th Venice Biennale for Architecture with his photographs from the World Trade Center Archives.
This fall three new books are being published, Taking My Time, his fifty year, two volume, retrospective book by Phaidon Press of London, Provence: Lasting Impressions, co-authored with his wife Maggie Barrett, and published by Sterling, and a book on the late work of Paul Strand by Aperture.
Meyerowitz is a Guggenheim fellow and a recipient of both the NEA (National Endowment of the Arts) and NEH (National Endowment for the Humanities) awards. His work is in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art, the Boston Museum of Fine Art, The Art Institute of Chicago, and many others world wide.

Mostre dell'autore


Articoli Simili