European Photo Exhibition Award 01 | European Identities


© Catarina Botelho, O tempo e o Modo #1

The European Photo Exhibition Award is a new initiative by Fondazione Banca del Monte di Lucca (Italy), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (Portugal), Institusjonen Fritt Ord (Norway) and Körber-Stiftung (Germany). It focuses on photographers who live and work in Europe and aims to promote talented European photographers starting out on their careers by providing international facilities. In workshops held during the work process, the European project also encourages young European artists to work together with experts on the chosen topic, exchange views and share working methods with the other photographers and the four curators. In this way, epea intends to contribute to and intensify dialog within Europe. All four partners are committed to this philosophyand welcome other foundations from other European countries to join the project, as they believe Europe should be represented by as many countries and views as possible.

“European Identities”
The topic of epea 01 is “European Identities”. It refers to current questions of cohesion and unity as well as aspects of diversity within Europe and gives the photographers the opportunity to focus on individual, social, political, cultural, national and transnational issues. In their observations, analyses and statements the twelve appointed photographers translated this deliberately open topic into a photo essay. The highly varied finished photo essays are presented in a catalogue and also in a touring exhibition throughout Europe at top exhibition venues and festivals such as Paris Photo, offering the up-and-coming photographers the opportunity to present themselves at a prestigious location.

The twelve appointed photographers of the first European Photo Exhibition Award are Catarina Botelho, José Pedro Cortes, Gabriele Croppi, João Grama, Monica Larsen, Frederic Lezmi, Pietro Masturzo, Hannah Modigh, Davide Monteleone, Linn Schröder, Marie Sjøvold, Isabelle Wenzel.
They were appointed and mentored by the four curators Rune Eraker (freelance photographer, Oslo), Sérgio Mah (curator and sociologist, Lisbon), Enrico Stefanelli (Artistic Director of Lucca Photo Fest and Artistic Director of LUMINA) and Ingo Taubhorn (curator at House of Photography / Deichtorhallen Hamburg) who are also in charge of installing the touring exhibition at its four European venues: House of Photography / Deichtorhallen Hamburg, Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian – Délégation en France, Fondazione Banca del Monte di Lucca, Lucca, and the Nobel Peace Center in Oslo.


Logo BML Alberto Del Carlo
Fondazione Banca del Monte di Lucca
 Fund. Gulbenkain logo portugiesisch Emìlio Rui Vilar
Fundção Calouste Gulbenkian
 fritt ord logo new Erik Rudeng
Institusjonen Fritt Ord
 koe-logo positiv 4c Dr. Klaus Wehmeier

Articoli Simili